Hermann Scheer

Hermann Scheer was an economist and social scientist and has been a member of the German parliament since 1980. He was president of EUROSOLAR and chair of the World Council for Renewable Energies. He was instrumental in the enactment of Germany’s Renewable Energy Law (2000 and 2009) and recently helped set up IRENA (International Renewable Energies Agency). His work has been honoured with various prizes, including the Alternative Nobel Prize for his commitment to renewable energy, the World Solar Prize, the World Prize for Bio-Energy, the World Wind Energy Award and the Solar World Einstein Award. Hermann Scheer passed away in 2010.